A Slap in the Face for Quebec Regions

15_BG_lowRezYesterday, the Honourable Denis Lebel, Deputy Leader of the Official Opposition and Member of Parliament for Lac-Saint-Jean, and Bernard Généreux, Member of Parliament for Montmagny–L’Islet–Kamouraska–Rivière-du-Loup, highlighted the absurdity of having a minister from Ontario responsible for Canada Economic Development for Quebec Regions.

“Despite there being 39 Liberal MPs from Quebec, the Prime Minister chose someone from Ontario, who knows next to nothing about Quebec’s regions, to be the minister responsible for Canada Economic Development for Quebec Regions. This is a symbolic slap in the face for our Quebec regions, which are losing an ear specifically attuned to their needs,” the Deputy Leader of the Official Opposition commented.

The Liberals recently tabled a bill (C-24) that provides for centralizing all the economic development agencies. The bill specifically proposes eliminating the position of minister of Economic Development for Quebec Regions.

“This shows that Justin Trudeau’s government is not at all interested in our regions. The Speech from the Throne only used the word ‘region’ once; a clear indicator of what was to come,” concluded Bernard Généreux, the Official Opposition critic for Canada Economic Development for Quebec Regions.

Une claque au visage des régions du Québec

15_BG_lowRezLe mardi 25 octobre, le député de Montmagny—L’Islet—KamouraskaRivière-du-Loup Bernard Généreux et le chef adjoint de l’Opposition officielle et député de Lac-Saint-Jean, l’honorable Denis Lebel, ont mis en évidence l’absurdité d’avoir un ministre ontarien en charge de Développement économique Canada pour les régions du Québec.

« Parmi les 39 députés libéraux du Québec, le premier ministre a préféré nommer un ministre de l’Ontario, qui connait peu les régions du Québec, responsable de Développement économique Canada pour les régions du Québec. Cette action symbolique est une claque au visage de nos régions du Québec qui perdent une oreille spécifiquement à l’écoute de leurs besoins », a mentionné le chef adjoint de l’Opposition officielle.

Récemment, les libéraux ont déposé un projet de loi (C-24) qui prévoit une centralisation de toutes les agences de développement économique. Ce projet suggère notamment l’élimination du poste de ministre du Développement économique pour les régions du Québec.

« On comprend ainsi que le gouvernement de Justin Trudeau n’a pas d’intérêt pour nos régions. Le discours du Trône, ne mentionnant pas une seule fois le mot région, le laissait déjà présager », a conclu Bernard Généreux, porte-parole de l’Opposition officielle pour Développement économique Canada pour les régions du Québec.‎