Rallying together to face a Challenge

 MP and CHAIN OF LIFE Challenge 2017 supporter Bernard Généreux, along with Nathalie Lévesque, Mayor of St-Pacôme; Lucie Dumont, President of CHAIN OF LIFE; Yvan Tardif, Chair of the Kamouraska–Rivière-du-Loup school board, represented by Charles Fortier, a teacher; Linda Béland, representing families of donors; Guylaine Dumas, a mother of a transplant recipient; and Mathieu Rivest, Director of St-Alexandre Music Camp and Leader of Harmonie des Cascades, are working together to make the family-friendly event at Côte-des-Chats in St-Pacôme on Sunday, October 15, at 9:30 a.m. a success.

As part of the World Day for Organ Donation and Transplantation, everyone is invited to climb one of the 14 summits identified by CHAIN OF LIFE. In the Lower St. Lawrence region, Côte-des-Chats has been chosen as the location in this second year of the Challenge. “Our community is rallying behind the CHAIN OF LIFE, and we are proud to welcome them here,” said the Mayor of St-Pacôme, Nathalie Lévesque. “The coordination support we are offering today is our way of supporting this major fundraising initiative, while also raising public awareness of organ donation in Quebec.”

People of all ages and abilities are invited to visit the site defi.chainedevie.org to support a team or even to participate in this symbolic ascent, which represents the difficult journey of a transplant recipient on a wait list. Registration is a $25 donation online or $30 the day of the event. People aged 18 and younger, as well as CEGEP and university students, do not have to pay to participate.

MP Bernard Généreux said “Every year, my team and I choose a cause that we want to invest in. From my very first meeting with Lucie Dumont, the President of CHAIN OF LIFE, it was clear to me that her message needed to spread beyond the borders of our province to cover the entire country. I am proud that this project means our students are learning in the classroom that one donor can save up to eight lives.”

“The CHAIN OF LIFE Challenge is a unique opportunity to take the time to celebrate the most beautiful gift of all: life!” said Lucie Dumont, President of CHAIN OF LIFE.

“The Kamouraska–Rivière-du-Loup school board is proud to have been involved with CHAIN OF LIFE since the very beginning,” said Chair Yvan Tardif. “Various stakeholders have invested their time and energy in this worthwhile cause, and have also made major financial contributions over the years. This generous support has helped the project succeed in its goal of raising awareness. We wish CHAIN OF LIFE all the best as it works to benefit the entire population.”

In 2008, Linda Béland lost her son Vincent at age 21 when he was climbing a mountain in British Columbia. Ms. Béland and her family had to make a decision about organ donation without knowing Vincent’s wishes. Ms. Béland said “I firmly believe in the importance of families discussing organ donation with each other, so your loved ones know where you stand and they can honour your life in the way that you have chosen, no matter what decision you make.”

Guylaine Dumas is the mother of a teenage girl who received a heart transplant on Christmas Day 2016. Her daughter has had heart problems since she was 12 years old. “Without organ donation, and without this one generous donation in particular, Lisa-Marie would no longer be with us,” said Ms. Dumas. “There are no words to express our gratitude to the family of the donor who said yes to organ donation and saved Lisa‑Marie’s life.”


In addition to the climb, a number of activities will be available to participants, including an introductory Zumba class taught by Cathy Lemieux, and light refreshments served after the climb. The St-Alexandre music camp (CMSA), together with Beauport’s Harmonie des Cascades, will be performing for the walkers throughout the event. In addition, La Pocatière native Guillaume Leclerc will sing CHAIN OF LIFE’s theme song (Horizon). Mathieu Rivest, director of the music camp and leader of Harmonie, said “The CMSA is happy to be part of the event, providing logistical support and loaning equipment. It is great to see the region come together like this. Pairing music and sport for an event supporting a good cause is something we are eager to support. You can rest assured that Harmonie des Cascades and its 60 musicians will put on a high-quality musical performance!”

CHAIN OF LIFE is a charitable organization whose mission is to support an educational and social project to raise awareness among students aged 15 and 16. They learn about organ and tissue donation as part of their English second language classes in all secondary schools across Quebec. The funds raised through the Challenge will go to support the awareness project. Teams from the fields of health care and education, as well as climbers, celebrities and members of the public will plant the CHAIN OF LIFE flag.

Participants are invited to register or donate to a team here:

https://defi.chainedevie.org/sommet-2-La_Cote-des-Chats_Saint-Pacome_Bas-Saint-Laurent [French only].

To learn more about the CHAIN OF LIFE project:

Un défi qui rallie

 Le député fédéral et porte-étendard du Défi CHAÎNE DE VIE 2017 Bernard Généreux, la mairesse de St-Pacôme Nathalie Lévesque, la présidente de CHAÎNE DE VIE Lucie Dumont, le président de la commission scolaire de Kamouraska-Rivière-du-Loup Yvan Tardif représenté par l’enseignant Charles Fortier, la représentante de familles de donneurs Linda Béland, la mère d’une greffée Guylaine Dumas, le directeur du Camp musical de St-Alexandre et chef de l’Harmonie des Cascades Mathieu Rivest collaborent pour faire de l’événement familial qui se tiendra dans la Côte-des-Chat de St-Pacôme le dimanche 15 octobre dès 9h30 un succès.

Dans le cadre de la Journée mondiale du don d’organes et de la greffe, la population est invitée à monter un des 14 sommets identifiés par CHAÎNE DE VIE. Au Bas-St-Laurent, c’est la Côte-des-Chats qui a été sélectionnée pour cette deuxième édition. « Notre municipalité est solidaire du Défi et c’est avec une grande fierté que nous l’accueillerons. L’appui à la coordination que nous offrons aujourd’hui est notre façon de soutenir cette levée de fonds d’envergure, tout en sensibilisant la population à la cause du don d’organes au Québec! » affirme la mairesse de St-Pacôme Nathalie Lévesque.

Les marcheurs de tous âges, de tous niveaux sont invités à s’inscrire sur le site defi.chainedevie.org pour encourager une équipe ou encore pour participer à une montée symbolique, qui représente le parcours d’un receveur en attente d’une greffe. Le coût de l’inscription est un don de 25$ en ligne ou 30$ la journée de l’événement. Aucune contribution financière n’est demandée aux personnes de 18 ans et moins ainsi qu’aux étudiants des cégeps et universités.

Pour sa part, le député indique « à chaque année, mon équipe et moi choisissons une cause dans laquelle nous voulons nous investir. Dès la première rencontre avec Lucie Dumont, présidente de CHAÎNE de VIE, il m’était clair que son message se devait de traverser les frontières des provinces pour toucher tout le pays. Je suis fier que nos jeunes apprennent dans leurs classes, grâce à ce projet, qu’un seul don peut sauver jusqu’à huit vies. »

« Le Défi CHAÎNE DE VIE est une occasion unique de prendre le temps de célébrer le plus beau cadeau qui soit – la vie! » explique Lucie Dumont, président de CHAÎNE DE VIE.

« La Commission scolaire de Kamouraska–Rivière-du-Loup est fière d’avoir contribué au développement de CHAÎNE DE VIE depuis ses tout débuts. De nombreux intervenants ont investi temps et énergie à cette noble cause, en plus d’y avoir participé financièrement au cours des années, et ce, de façon importante. Cet appui bienveillant a favorisé le succès du projet et l’atteinte de ses objectifs de sensibilisation. Nous souhaitons à CHAÎNE DE VIE le plus grand succès, au bénéfice de l’ensemble de la population » déclare le président Yvan Tardif.

Linda Béland a perdu Vincent, son fils de 21 ans en 2008 alors qu’il escaladait une montagne en Colombie-Britannique. Mme Béland et sa famille ont dû prendre la délicate décision du don d’organes sans connaître les volontés de Vincent. Mme Béland affirme « je crois à l’importance de discuter en famille du don d’organes, de se positionner à ce sujet, de faire savoir son choix à ses proches et peu importe la décision, d’honorer le don de vie qui nous est fait ».

« Sans le don d’organes, ce don si généreux, Lisa-Marie de serait plus là. Il n’y a pas de mot pour exprimer toute notre reconnaissance envers la famille du donneur qui a dit oui et a ainsi sauvé Lisa-Marie » affirme Guylaine Dumas, mère d’une adolescente qui a reçu une greffe du cœur le jour de Noël 2016. Lisa-Marie était aux prises avec des problèmes au cœur depuis l’âge de 12 ans.

En plus de la montée, plusieurs activités seront offertes aux participants, soit un Zumba préparatoire mené par Cathy Lemieux et un léger goûté sera servi après l’ascension. Le Camp musical de St-Alexandre (CMSA) de concert avec l’Harmonie des Cascades de Beauport offriront une performance sans précédent aux marcheurs tout au long de l’événement. De plus, l’artiste pocatois Guillaume Leclerc interprétera la chanson-thème de CHAÎNE DE VIE (Horizon). Mathieu Rivest, directeur du Camp et chef de l’Harmonie souligne « le CMSA es heureux de se joindre à l’événement par un soutien logistique et de prêt d’équipements. Il s’agit d’une véritable synergie régionale. Le fait d’allier la musique au sport, en plus de collaborer à une cause importante nous motive beaucoup. L’Harmonie des Cascades et ses 60 musiciens offriront une prestation musicale de haut niveau. »

CHAÎNE DE VIE est un organisme de bienfaisance dont la mission principale est de soutenir un projet à caractère éducatif et social pour les jeunes de 15 à 16 ans. Ces derniers sont sensibilisés au don d’organes et de tissus dans le cadre de leur cours d’anglais langue seconde, dans toutes les écoles secondaires du Québec. L’argent amassé lors du Défi servira à appuyer la mission pédagogique du projet. Des équipes composées de personnel du milieu de la santé, de l’éducation, des grimpeurs, des personnalités publiques et la population y planteront le drapeau de CHAÎNE DE VIE.

Les participants sont invités à s’inscrire ou faire un don à une équipe:
https://defi.chainedevie.org/sommet-2-La_Cote-des-Chats_Saint-Pacome_Bas-Saint-Laurent.

Pour en savoir davantage sur le projet CHAÎNE DE VIE :
http://chainedevie.org/pourquoi-appuyer-le-projet-chaine-de-vie-fr1207