Bernard Généreux named honorary president of 2018 André-Côté cycling challenge

The André-Côté Foundation is proud to introduce the honorary president of the eighth André-Côté cycling challenge. He is an entrepreneur, a businessman and a politician with a long history in the Kamouraska region: Mr. Bernard Généreux, MP for Montmagny–L’Islet–Kamouraska–Rivière-du-Loup.

Mr. Généreux was very pleased to accept the position of honorary president. He has committed to promoting the challenge all year long. This athletic event is already well known in Kamouraska, and has raised the region’s profile across Quebec. Many people consider it to be one of the top cycling events of the summer. “In 2016, I participated in the André-Côté cycling challenge for the second time,” he said. “It was a fantastic experience, especially doing it alongside other people. I remember the group I was with on the 75-km loop took the time to stop at Seigneurie des Aulnaies. The views along the way are breathtaking. It makes it very easy for me to promote the challenge! My resolution for 2018 is to prioritize healthy habits, including exercising on a daily basis, so my role as the honorary president for this event fits right in!”


The 2018 edition of the challenge will take place on Saturday, July 7. It is the perfect activity for people who want to give back to the community and push themselves on one of the various routes. Cyclists can choose from different speed and distance challenges throughout the Kamouraska region, with levels of difficulty to suit everyone. “My hope is that we can exceed the objectives set for both the number of participants and the amount of money raised,” said Bernard Généreux. “This large-scale event has a big impact on the community. The funds collected go toward a wide range of peer support services, as well as companion, comfort and support services for people with cancer or incurable diseases and their loved ones. The services the Foundation provides benefit the community and complement and support the regular health care system.”

Starting in January, people can register for the event on the website for the challenge, where they can also find more information about the activities offered and view the various routes available. In the meantime, it is never too early to start looking for supporters and sponsors to support the cause! For more information, please contact the André-Côté Foundation’s offices at 418-856-4066.

Président d’honneur du Défi Vélo André-Côté 2018

 C’est avec grand plaisir que le député fédéral de Montmagny-l’Islet-Kamouraska-Rivière-du-Loup a accepté la présidence d’honneur de la huitième édition du Défi Vélo André-Côté en tant qu’entrepreneur, un homme d’affaires et politicien bien implanté dans le terreau kamouraskois, Monsieur Généreux s’est engagé à faire la promotion de cet événement tout au long de l’année à venir. Ce rassemblement sportif est déjà bien connu au Kamouraska et fait rayonner la région à travers le Québec. Il s’inscrit comme un incontournable des circuits cyclistes estivaux. « À l’été 2016, j’ai participé pour la deuxième fois au Défi Vélo André-Côté. J’ai adoré mon expérience, particulièrement au plan humain. Je me souviens, le peloton du circuit de 75 km avec lequel j’ai pédalé avait pris le temps de s’arrêter à la Seigneurie des Aulnaies. Les paysages qui s’offrent aux cyclistes sont à couper le souffle, c’est pourquoi il est facile pour moi de vanter ce Défi. Pour 2018, j’ai pris la résolution de mettre en priorité les saines habitudes, dont la pratique d’exercices physiques dans mon quotidien, ainsi ce rôle de parrain d’honneur est tout désigné » affirme le député.

 

Le défi, qui aura lieu le samedi 7 juillet 2018, appelle à la générosité et au dépassement des participants qui emprunteront les différents parcours. Les cyclistes effectueront des boucles de vitesses et de kilométrages variés à travers les municipalités du Kamouraska selon les défis propres à chacun. « Mon souhait est de dépasser l’objectif en terme de nombre de participants et d’argent amassé. Les retombées de cet événement d’envergure auront un impact immense dans la collectivité. Ces fonds permettront de rendre accessibles une gamme de services d’entraide, d’accompagnement, de confort et de soutien aux personnes atteintes d’un cancer ou d’une maladie incurable ainsi qu’à leurs proches. C’est un apport social inestimable complémentaire aux services offerts par le système de santé» déclare Bernard Généreux.

 

Dès janvier, les participants pourront s’inscrire via le site Internet du Défi, découvrir l’ensemble des activités et visualiser les parcours qui leur seront proposés. D’ici là, ils sont invités à amorcer leur recherche de commanditaires et de donateurs pour appuyer la cause du Défi Vélo André-Côté. Pour davantage de renseignements, vous pouvez rejoindre les bureaux de la Fondation au 418 856-4066.