Liberals shut agricultural sector out of Canada Food Guide study

On Wednesday, Liberal members of the Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food defeated a motion that would have allowed farmers and producers to participate in the committee’s study on the new Canada Food Guide. In response, Conservative Shadow Ministers for Agriculture and Agri-Food Luc Berthold and John Barlow, along with Earl Dreeshen, Member of Parliament for Red Deer-Mountain View, released the following statement:

“By voting against this motion, the Liberals are ignoring the voices of those who work tirelessly to cultivate the food we eat. Shutting them out of the conversation is short-sighted, ideological and harmful for both the economy and the consumer.”

“We continue to hear from experts and physicians who are concerned that the proposed changes to the Canada Food Guide are based on ideology rather than on good science.”

“Canada’s Conservatives will continue to fight for our producers as the Liberals develop the new Canada Food Guide.”

For his part, Bernard Généreux, Member of Parliament for Montmagny—L’Islet—Kamouraska—Rivière-du-Loup, said that it is “very disturbing that the government has made a decision without consulting the agri-food sector and its farmers, including farmers in my constituency, the very people who will be most affected by this decision.”

Les libéraux excluent le secteur agricole de l’examen du Guide alimentaire canadien

Bernard Généreux
© HOC-CDC
Credit: Bernard Thibodeau, House of Commons Photo Services

Mercredi, les membres libéraux du Comité permanent de l’agriculture et de l’agroalimentaire ont défait une motion qui aurait permis aux agriculteurs et aux producteurs de participer à l’étude du nouveau Guide alimentaire canadien. En réponse, les ministres du Cabinet fantôme conservateur responsables de l’Agriculture et de l’Agroalimentaire, Luc Berthold et John Barlow, en compagnie d’Earl Dreeshen, le député de Red Deer-Mountain View, ont fait la déclaration suivante :

 

« En votant contre cette motion, les libéraux ignorent ceux qui travaillent sans relâche pour cultiver les aliments que nous mangeons. Les exclure de la discussion est une attitude bornée, idéologique et néfaste pour l’économie et les consommateurs.

 

« Nous continuons à entendre des experts et des médecins qui s’inquiètent du fait que les changements proposés au Guide alimentaire canadien reposent sur une idéologie plutôt que sur des données scientifiques.

 

« Les conservateurs du Canada vont continuer à se battre pour nos producteurs alors que les libéraux élaborent le nouveau Guide alimentaire canadien. »

 

Pour sa part, Bernard Généreux, député de Montmagny—L’Islet—Kamouraska—Rivière-du-Loup a indiqué « [qu’] Il est très inquiétant de voir un gouvernement prendre des décisions sans même consulter ceux et celles qui seront le plus touchés, c’est-à-dire le monde agroalimentaire, dans lequel se retrouve les agriculteurs et les agricultrices de ma circonscription ».