MP Responds to 2018 Trudeau-Morneau Budget

 Bernard Généreux, MP for Montmagny−L’Islet−Kamouraska−Rivière-du-Loup, responded today to the announcement of Budget 2018, which was tabled in the House of Commons by the Minister of Finance, Bill Morneau, on Tuesday, February 27, 2018. Projecting that the federal debt will rise continuously until 2045, the 423 page document includes a $2.54 billion reduction in spending previously promised for infrastructure programs, as well as tax increases for some small and medium-sized businesses.

The budget projects a deficit of $18.1 billion for 2018–2019, and the Liberal government does not anticipate a return to balanced budgets until 2045.

“Despite all his talk of young people and the country’s future, Justin Trudeau is clearly acting against the interests of coming generations by pursuing a fiscal policy that will increase the current federal debt of $670 billion by 70%, or $450 billion, over the next 27 years,” said Généreux. “The young people of today and tomorrow will inherit this debt and the increased taxes and rationed services that come with it.”

Généreux also condemned the Liberals’ neglect of provincial and municipal infrastructure in favour of massive new investments elsewhere, including $5 billion for Indigenous affairs and $2 billion for foreign aid. The infrastructure funding promised in the previous budget, sorely needed in regions like Montmagny−L’Islet−Kamouraska−Rivière-du-Loup, was reduced by $2.54 billion in Budget 2018.

“What this government gives with one hand, it takes with the other. The politically motivated priorities of Justin Trudeau’s Liberals are a clear sign of their ideologically driven disregard for Quebec’s regions, including our own,” he said.

With regard to cannabis, Généreux found it ironic that $82.5 million has been budgeted to assess and raise awareness of the risks associated with the substance, since these measures could have been taken well before bills C 45 and C 46 were introduced to legalize it.

“The government’s belated acknowledgement of the significant risks linked to cannabis use proves that it rushed into its plan to legalize the drug by this summer without taking the consequences into account,” argued Généreux.

Meanwhile, the government is moving ahead with plans to limit eligibility for the lower tax rate currently enjoyed by small and medium-sized businesses, which are major contributors to the riding’s economy.

“According to Justin Trudeau’s Liberals, the successful small and medium-sized businesses that help our communities grow are actually cheating us by not paying their fair share of taxes,” explained Généreux. “Job-creating businesses across the country will be hit with an additional $2.3 billion in taxes. The government has to realize that business owners are more than just another source of revenue to stem the deficit that Justin Trudeau is racking up.”

Généreux also condemned the budget’s neglect of the agricultural sector, which is currently plagued by the uncertainty surrounding the renegotiation of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA). The budget does not contain any additional compensation for producers affected by the implementation of the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA).

“Our farmers have been utterly betrayed by the Trudeau government. The previous Conservative government had promised $4 billion in funding to offset the impact of CETA on dairy producers, yet the Liberal government has offered a mere $250 million to fund a handful of initiatives around the country. This non-renewable funding excludes the vast majority of our region’s producers,” concluded Généreux.

Le député fédéral réagit au Budget Trudeau-Morneau 2018

 Le député fédéral de Montmagny—L’Islet—Kamouraska—Rivière-du-Loup Bernard Généreux a réagi suite au dévoilement du Budget 2018, déposé par le ministre des Finances Bill Morneau à la Chambre des communes le mardi 27 février 2018. Le document de 423 pages prévoit, entre autres, l’augmentation de la dette fédérale jusqu’en 2045, des coupures importantes de 2,54 milliards $ d’argent déjà promis pour les programmes d’infrastructure, ainsi qu’une augmentation d’impôts pour certaines petites et moyennes entreprises.

Le budget prévoit un déficit de 18,1 milliards de dollars pour l’année 2018-2019, et le gouvernement libéral n’anticipe pas revenir à l’équilibre budgétaire avant l’année 2045.

« Pour un premier ministre qui aime parler de la jeunesse et de l’avenir du pays, Justin Trudeau agit clairement contre les intérêts des générations futures avec une approche fiscale qui ajoutera 450 milliards de dollars à la dette nationale d’ici les 27 prochaines années, une augmentation de 70% par rapport à la dette actuelle de 670 milliards $, dénonce Bernard Généreux. Les jeunes d’aujourd’hui et de demain se verront léguer une dette qui se traduira inévitablement par des hausses d’impôts et des services rationnés. »

Pour les régions comme Montmagny—L’Islet—Kamouraska—Rivière-du-Loup, le député Bernard Généreux déplore également que les nouveaux investissements massifs des libéraux de Justin Trudeau, incluant 5 milliards $ pour les autochtones et 2 milliards $ pour l’aide étrangère, se fassent aux dépens des investissements en infrastructures municipales et provinciales dont la région a grandement besoin. Le Budget 2018 prévoit une réduction de 2,54 milliards de dollars qui étaient déjà annoncés dans le budget précédent.

« Ce que le gouvernement donne d’une main, il reprend de l’autre, et ce choix politique démontre clairement que les libéraux de Justin Trudeau se fichent carrément des régions du Québec, incluant la nôtre, pour des raisons purement idéologiques » s’exclame le député.

Sur l’enjeu de la marijuana, le député Bernard Généreux trouve ironique le fait que le gouvernement prévoit maintenant 82,5 millions $ pour l’évaluation et l’éducation des risques associés à la consommation du cannabis, alors que le gouvernement aurait bien pu procéder à cette étude avant de déposer les projets de loi C-45 et C-46 visant à légaliser la substance.

« Le fait que le gouvernement reconnaisse maintenant qu’il existe des risques importants liés à la consommation de la marijuana vient confirmer qu’il a précipité son plan de légaliser le cannabis d’ici l’été 2018 sans penser aux conséquences » selon Bernard Généreux.

Pour les petites et moyennes entreprises, qui contribuent à la vitalité économique de Montmagny—L’Islet—Kamouraska—Rivière-du-Loup, le gouvernement va de l’avant avec des changements visant à limiter l’accès des compagnies au taux d’imposition avantageux des petites entreprises.

« Selon les libéraux de Justin Trudeau, les PME qui réussissent et qui contribuent à l’essor de nos communautés sont identifiées comme des tricheurs qui ne paient pas leur juste part d’impôts, estime le député Bernard Généreux. Les entreprises créatrices d’emplois se trouveront à payer 2,3 milliards de dollars en impôts additionnels à travers le Canada. Le gouvernement doit cesser de voir ces entrepreneurs comme une source additionnelle de revenu pour colmater le déficit associé aux décisions politiques de Justin Trudeau. »

Pour le milieu agricole, le député dénonce que le budget ne fasse aucunement référence à l’incertitude qui plane actuellement dans le contexte de la renégociation de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA). De plus, le budget ne prévoit aucune somme additionnelle sous forme de compensation pour les producteurs affectés par l’entrée en vigueur de l’accord Canada-Europe.

« Les agriculteurs d’ici ont été carrément trahis par le gouvernement Trudeau. Alors que l’ancien gouvernement conservateur prévoyait 4 milliards de dollars en compensation aux producteurs laitiers pour atténuer les impacts de L’AECG, les libéraux n’ont offert qu’un maigre 250 millions $ pour une poignée de projets à l’échelle du Canada, une somme non renouvelée dont la vaste majorité des producteurs de notre région a été exclue » constate le député.