Bernard Généreux Appointed as Shadow Minister of Rural Economic Development and the Canadian Economic Development Agency for Québec Regions.

Ottawa – November 29, 2019 – Bernard Généreux, Member of Parliament for Montmagny—L’Islet—Kamouraska—Rivière-du-Loup, has been appointed by Conservative leader Andrew Scheer to serve in his shadow cabinet, as Shadow Minister of Rural Economic Development, and the Canadian Economic Development Agency for Québec Regions.

The re-elected MP will therefore have the opportunity to question Ministers Mélanie Joly (Economic Development and Official Languages) and Maryam Monsef (Women and Gender Equality and Rural Economic Development) on a regular basis, in addition to developing new policies to better respond to the needs of rural regions, such as Montmagny—L’Islet—Kamouraska—Rivière-du-Loup.

“I am proud that the leader has conferred this important responsibility upon me, and I eagerly await the opportunity to share with my Ottawa colleagues the wealth of experience I have acquired over the years in the municipal and small-business sectors” said Bernard Généreux. “I am firmly committed to improving the responsiveness and consideration of the federal government to better respond to the needs of rural Canada and Québec, as well as supporting the business community throughout Québec.”

The MP also congratulates his other Conservative colleagues throughout Canada for their appointments, adding that he is quite eager to work in collaboration with them to advance the interests of Quebecers within the shadow cabinet.

“Justin Trudeau remains in place but with a much-weakened minority government” added Bernard Généreux. “We have the intention to work tirelessly within the next several months to hold him to account and demonstrate how a Conservative government would be the best answer to the needs of our regions.”

The Parliament of Canada is due to convene on December 5, at which time MPs will elect a new Speaker in the House of Commons. They will also be invited to the Senate for the Speech from the Throne, to be read by Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada.

– 30 –

Bernard Généreux nommé ministre responsable au cabinet fantôme pour le Développement économique rural et de l’Agence de développement économique du Canada (DEC) pour les régions du Québec

Ottawa, le 29 novembre 2019 – Bernard Généreux, député fédéral de Montmagny—L’Islet—Kamouraska—Rivière-du-Loup, a été invité par le chef conservateur Andrew Scheer à siéger en tant que ministre au sein de son cabinet fantôme, où il sera responsable du Développement économique rural et de l’Agence de développement économique du Canada (DEC) pour les régions du Québec.

Le député réélu aura donc l’opportunité de questionner sur une base régulière les ministres Mélanie Joly (ministre du Développement économique et des Langues officielles) et Maryam Monsef (ministre des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres et du Développement économique rural) à la Chambre des communes, en plus de travailler à l’élaboration de politiques visant à mieux répondre aux besoins des régions rurales, comme Montmagny—L’Islet—Kamouraska—Rivière-du-Loup.

« Je suis fier que le chef m’ait confié cette responsabilité importante et j’attends avec impatience l’occasion de partager avec mes collègues d’Ottawa l’ensemble de mon expérience acquise au fil des années dans le monde municipal et entrepreneurial. J’ai la ferme intention d’améliorer la réactivité et la considération du gouvernement fédéral face aux besoins du Canada, du Québec et des régions, ainsi qu’envers les communautés d’affaires partout au Québec », a déclaré Bernard Généreux.

Le député salue également la nomination de ses autres collègues conservateurs et mentionne être impatient de travailler de concert avec eux pour faire avancer les intérêts des québécoises et québécois à l’échelle du Canada, au sein du cabinet fantôme.

« Justin Trudeau demeure en place mais avec un gouvernement minoritaire affaibli », a souligné Bernard Généreux. Nous avons l’intention de travailler sans relâche au cours des prochains mois pour le surveiller et faire la démonstration qu’un éventuel gouvernement conservateur serait la meilleure solution aux enjeux qui touchent nos régions. »

Le Parlement du Canada reprendra ses travaux le 5 décembre. C’est à ce moment que les députés éliront un nouveau président à la Chambre des communes. Ils seront également convoqués au Sénat pour entendre le discours du trône qui sera prononcé par la gouverneure générale, Son Excellence la très honorable Julie Payette.

– 30 –