A Working Group is Created to Work Collegially With Quebec Municipalities

COA_HOC_1_Armoiries_CDCThe Honourable Denis Lebel, Deputy Leader of the Official Opposition, announced today before members of the Quebec Federation of Municipalities that the Quebec Conservative caucus is creating a group composed of four members of Parliament and one senator to work cooperatively with Quebec municipalities.

“It is becoming increasingly clear to us that the Trudeau government is completely out of touch with the issues affecting Quebec regions. For that reason, the Quebec Conservative caucus has decided to create a group to work collaboratively with Quebec municipalities,” the Member for Lac-Saint-Jean explained.

In addition to Denis Lebe (Lac-Saint-Jean), the committee will be composed of MPs Alain Rayes (Richmond-Arthabaska), Bernard Généreux (Montmagny—L’Islet—Kamouraska—Rivière-du-Loup), Luc Berthold (Mégantic—L’Érable) and Senator Claude Carignan (Leader of the Opposition in the Senate).

“With former mayors from the Lower St. Lawrence, the Amiante region, the Centre-du-Québec, Montréal’s North Shore and Saguenay–Lac-St-Jean, we will defend Quebec’s municipalities in Ottawa,” Mr. Lebel stated.

Mr. Lebel also used his time with the Federation to remind its members that the Conservative Party has always been the party of the regions, and that it will continue to pressure the Trudeau government on issues affecting regions, including cell phone service, softwood lumber, and diafiltered milk.

Création d’un groupe de travail

COA_HOC_1_Armoiries_CDCDevant les membres de la Fédération Québécoise des Municipalités réunis à Québec pour leur Congrès annuel, l’honorable Denis Lebel, chef adjoint de l’Opposition officielle, a annoncé que le caucus conservateur du Québec met sur pied un groupe de travail composé de quatre députés et d’un sénateur pour collaborer avec les municipalités du Québec.

« Il est de plus en plus clair pour nous que le gouvernement Trudeau est complètement déconnecté des enjeux qui touchent les régions du Québec.  Pour cette raison, le caucus conservateur du Québec a décidé de mettre sur pied un groupe de travail qui va collaborer avec les municipalités québécoises », a expliqué le député de Lac-Saint-Jean.

Outre Denis Lebel (député de Lac-Saint-Jean), le comité sera composé de Alain Rayes (député de Richmond-Arthabaska), Bernard Généreux (député de Montmagny—L’Islet—Kamouraska—Rivière-du-Loup), Luc Berthold (député de Mégantic—L’Érable) et Claude Carignan (Leader de l’opposition au Sénat).

« Avec d’anciens maires provenant du Bas-Saint-Laurent, de la région de l’Amiante, du Centre-du-Québec, de la Rive-Nord de Montréal et du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean, nous allons défendre les intérêts des municipalités québécoises à Ottawa », a mentionné M. Lebel.

M. Lebel a également profité de son passage à la FQM pour rappeler que le Parti conservateur a toujours été le parti des régions et qu’il va continuer de talonner le gouvernement Trudeau sur les enjeux qui touchent les régions comme la téléphonie cellulaire, le bois d’œuvre et le lait diafiltré.